This Award is given in cooperation between the Hockey Development Centre of Ontario and the NOHA. The Dr. Tom Pashby Trainer of the Year Award recognizes outstanding dedication and service in the areas of Safety & Risk Management in the province of Ontario. The recipient(s) of this award will exemplify commitment to the values of safety, enjoyment, Fair Play, education and integrity in the game of hockey through the Hockey Trainers Certification Program of Ontario. Each member of the HDCO will be selecting a winner and the HDCO will then select a Provincial winner. The NOHA will award its winner at the NOHA Annual General meeting. 
Eligible recipients must be: 

  • May either be in a volunteer or professional capacity.

  • May be active or retired.

  • Must have attained Level III of the HTCP or equivalent.

  • Must be a member of an Ontario CHA Branch/Division.

  • Outstanding achievements in the area of Safety/Risk Management or contribution to the Hockey Trainers Certification Program. 


John Mayne, Sault Ste. Marie, 1999

Gerry Bouffard, North Bay, 2000

Harvey Mallette, Sudbury,  2001

Merv Russell, Timmins, 2002

Robert Vincintini, Sault Ste. Marie, 2003

Ulo Pihelgas, Wawa, 2004

Glenn Hall, North Bay, 2005

John Ohinski, Kapuskasing, 2006

Ernie Sapinski, Schumacher, 2007

Bidwell Caverly, Sault Ste Marie, 2010

Mario Laino, Sudbury, 2011

Rocky Hartley, Richards Landing, 2012

Jim Whalen, Sudbury, 2013

Dan Charette, Mindemoya, 2014

Lisa Parise, Sudbury, 2015

Carla Vine, Kirkland Lake, 2016

JJ Johnson, Powassan, 2017 

David Losier, Kapuskasing, 2018

Chris Seguin, Val Caron, 2019

Dr. Robert Lafontaine, Timmins, 2020